News Article

Cyber-Squatter Uses PSPgo's Web Domain to Pimp DSi

Posted Mon, 17 Aug 2009 by Damien McFerran

How'd you like that, Sony?

How'd you like that, Sony?

Valuable domain name is nabbed from under Sony's nose

The practice of 'cyber-squatting' - which basically means buying a domain name in the hope that it will one day become valuable - has been commonplace for a while now, but this is one of the more amusing episodes we've witnessed.

An industrious Chinese person has registered the domain name www.pspgo.co.uk, probably thinking that Sony will open its chequebook come release time and buy it off them.

We're not sure if that has happened or if Sony has decided it doesn't want the domain after all, but the squatter in question has decided to turn the site into a fully-working replica of Nintendo's own DSi site.

Even if Sony isn't playing ball, this is likely to make the company feel a little bit silly.

The site might not be live for much longer so be sure to take a look and have a giggle.

Tags: DS, Amusement, Drama, DSi.

User Comments

Kawaiipikachu

1. Kawaiipikachu Australia 17 Aug 2009, 14:18 BST

Hehehe um amazing.
I thing Playstation3.com.au is avalable so I might set up a Wii site there.

TwilightV

2. TwilightV United States 17 Aug 2009, 14:20 BST

WIN GET!

thebigM

3. thebigM Germany 17 Aug 2009, 14:25 BST

very nice... another proof, that Nintendo gamers are more clever / creative ;)

King Elemento

4. King Elemento United Kingdom 17 Aug 2009, 14:27 BST

Old. Also, I believe it was actually set up before the PSP Go! was announced as the official name.
But it's still pretty funny.

uel

5. uel United States 17 Aug 2009, 14:30 BST

Why would the website be taken down? Is it against the law?

Gabbo

6. Gabbo United States 17 Aug 2009, 14:30 BST

This is trademark infringement against Sony and Copyright infringement against Nintendo. Nothing to be happy about any more than the existance of thousands of piracy sites out there.

ganondwarf16

7. ganondwarf16 United States 17 Aug 2009, 14:33 BST

what happened to my comment?

Hardy83

8. Hardy83 Canada 17 Aug 2009, 14:42 BST

Yeah, Sony might not care to buy it, but Nintendo could force them to shutdown because their trademarked and copyrighted images the site now.

arnpoly

9. arnpoly United States 17 Aug 2009, 15:03 BST

It looks like it was just set up to forward to Nintendo's own DS-i homepage. All the links on the main page refer to Nintendo's website.

Machu

10. Machu United Kingdom 17 Aug 2009, 15:08 BST

I hope Sony let it lie and use a different address, so as not to admit their mistake. I hope Nintendo see the marketing advantages and leave it where it is.

Best Nintendork fueled prank ever, ha!

Ryuuga

11. Ryuuga Brazil 17 Aug 2009, 15:10 BST

LOL that was awesome! XD

SUPERZELDAMAN

12. SUPERZELDAMAN United States 17 Aug 2009, 15:12 BST

lol go nintendo!

KDR_11k

14. KDR_11k Germany 17 Aug 2009, 16:23 BST

Corbie could change the scythe of his avatar into a 7...

Odnetnin

15. Odnetnin United States 17 Aug 2009, 16:39 BST

Ready the deletion gun, mods!

Koto

16. Koto United States 17 Aug 2009, 16:53 BST

lol sony would probably just use go.psp.com.uk if they need a UK website

Kirk

17. Kirk United Kingdom 17 Aug 2009, 17:21 BST

This actually looks like an official Nintendo site.

It would be kinda funny if Nintendo actually did this because then it really would be just a little bit genius.

cryptonic

18. cryptonic United States 17 Aug 2009, 17:28 BST

old...very very very very very very OOOOLLLLDD

RaviC

19. RaviC United Kingdom 17 Aug 2009, 17:45 BST

This is simply a link to NoA's official DSi Site. Right click and select page source and see for yourself. Nintendo won't have any reason to complain. :)

Starwolf_UK

20. Starwolf_UK United Kingdom 17 Aug 2009, 18:36 BST

but the squatter in question has decided to turn the site into a fully-working replica of Nintendo's own DSi site
I think you mean redirect it to Nintendo's own DSi site.

@Koto. uk.psp.com/enteretainment/go surley? Still, going to pspgo.co.uk or psp-go.co.uk would re-direct to those if Sony cared. Thing is Sony might have cared but they didn't want to register the domain to keep the leaked announcement still secret...

Stevie

21. Stevie United Kingdom 17 Aug 2009, 19:06 BST

I think Iwata is behind this.

Odnetnin

22. Odnetnin United States 17 Aug 2009, 19:11 BST

Is this newsworthy?

ganondwarf16

23. ganondwarf16 United States 17 Aug 2009, 19:34 BST

I didn't even mean it to be a first I just don't see this kind of thing in the news

Viral

24. Viral United Kingdom 17 Aug 2009, 19:49 BST

Awesome...

LEGEND MARIOID

25. LEGEND MARIOID United Kingdom 17 Aug 2009, 19:56 BST

??????

tatemon555

26. tatemon555 Canada 17 Aug 2009, 20:31 BST

That is the best!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Take that, Sony. You just got owned.

WhoKnew

27. WhoKnew United States 17 Aug 2009, 20:33 BST

And thats one more point for Nintendo. :P

Turkey Brutus

28. Turkey Brutus United States 17 Aug 2009, 21:03 BST

@ganondwarf16:

Mmhmm. You're aware that your comment was word-for-word (well, with the exception of the LAST word) identical to the first example in that thread I linked you to?

I'm sure we'd all be fascinated by how many people are reading this here FIRST, but try something a little more substantial than that.

MrPanic

29. MrPanic Netherlands 17 Aug 2009, 21:15 BST

It's gone.

anthonyb

30. anthonyb United States 17 Aug 2009, 22:13 BST

I think it's funny that it was used for DSi advertisement! XD It's seems I just missed it though- it appears someone has already taken it down. Oh well.

@Chicken Brutus: I'm glad someone stepped in and stopped the whole "first!" thing- that gets irritating, and I'm simply a reader. Also, same thing with the "Corbie only gives 7's". Both of those type comments are indeed old- I was actually wanting to inquire about that a while back. Anywho, cheers to more engaging comments!

BlueFlameBat

31. BlueFlameBat United States 18 Aug 2009, 01:11 BST

I hate cyber-squatters.

City Of Delusion

32. City Of Delusion United Kingdom 18 Aug 2009, 13:22 BST

The squatters are still out in force: it's now the "Product Service for Project GnOme"...

StarDust

33. StarDust United States 20 Aug 2009, 16:22 BST

Um, no:

Program Service for Project GNOME Organization
www.PSPGO.co.uk

Rats, I'm too late. Hmmm, maybe it'll appear someday on archive.org.

EDIT: I remember the good old days (before the big Dotcom bust in 2001-2002), when you could key in www.[insert random word or phrase here].com and find some really cool stuff. It used to be pretty fun, and my friend and I made a game out of it. If you try to play that game on today's internet, you will most likely be redirected to ad portals, popups, "This domain for sale" messages, malware, and adult web sites.

Ashen_Iris

34. Ashen_Iris United States 18 Sep 2009, 20:00 BST

That is awesome ;)

Leave A Comment

Please login to post a comment.